h1

Reunion – October 2012

July 7, 2014

I was so distraught after realizing my mom was dead that I could not think of anything else that night. I sedated myself quite heavily, and slept for more than half-a-day. When I finally did crawl out-of-bed it occurred to me that maybe, just maybe, someone among the Fosters might want to know about me? Did anyone know about me? Had anyone missed me? Did they know who my dad was? Did I have siblings? Cousins? Aunts? Uncles? That Saturday evening I once again hit the internet. What I discovered that night led to my reunion.

I didn’t know who was who, but I had a long list of “Fosters” who were connected with each other not only on one ancestral online database, but they also were connected with each other on Facebook. I was on the right trail. I wrote private messages to all of them. I had actually prepared for this moment. In my note I stated simply:

“Please forgive me for reaching out to contact you directly. We have never met, but I believe that I have some common people connections with you. I apologize in advance, but I need to ask you a few personal questions.

Have you ever met, or do you know of “Kathleen Marie Foster” who lived in Allegheny/Olean area? She was born in 1943, and passed away in 1995. Her parents were Eugene and Irene Foster. Kathleen had 13 siblings. She is someone I have a great need to learn more about. If you do not know her, is there a possibility you may know of someone who does?

Again, I am sorry to bother you, but this is extremely important information for me. Please let me know either way if these names are in anyway familiar to you or someone in your family?

Thank you, Jeff Hancock Adoptee, born April, 1965″

From that Saturday evening until late afternoon the next day I was sweating Crisco. Waiting for a response was the worse stress I’d ever felt. I was a nervous wreck to say the least. Late Sunday afternoon I got my first reply. It was from my cousin. We are actually related twice. She is a member of my adoptive fathers family as well as married to one of my first cousins in the Fosters. She had me call my Aunt and Uncle who then got me in touch with my mom’s sister; my Aunt Shirley.

Leave a Reply

